Label Love: Permanent Vacation

Nearing 200 releases spread over a dozen years, Munich-based Permanent Vacation has made their name a lifestyle dedicated to dance. Run by founders Tom Bioly and Benjamin Fröhlich, the embodiment of the cities roots evolved the catalog as a staple fixture in the volatile trend that is dance music. 

To validate Munich’s roots in the creation of dance music you don’t need to go very far. As the early stomping ground for the ‘Father of Disco’ aka Giorgio Moroder, the South German city played host to the genre production early days. Aware of the local history, the two minds behind Permanent Vacation lead a local renaissance of sound while remaining a strong contributor to innovate crates across the globe. What started a tight crew with a fresh approach to the classics, now boasts a deep roster of organic talent and electronic legends. 

“BIOLY and FRÖHLICH rather deem Disco a form of mentality dissolving from all too fixed and earnest paradigms of dance music and the under cooled sound aesthetics of the electronic scene, promising warmth, playfulness and fun again.

What else should partying be about?”

Names like John Talabot, Mano Le Tough, Tensnake, and Todd Terje are just a few household DJs to drop hits on PERMVAC. Keeping with an aggressive release schedule, Tom and Ben have built a brand that’s a shop favorite on both sides of the Atlantic. Without much deviation from the main catalog, this independent stays surprisingly steady by sticking to their ethos of vocal ballads and disco tones. 

Last month’s release of their Selected Label Works 6 compilation was a quick 22-track look into the catalog of dance floor hits. When artists like Fort Romeau, Koze, and Roman Flügel casually appear on the remix front, it’s evident the right people have a pulse on this label. Volume six of a ‘greatest hits’ sort of a release is a noble feat, especially in dance music.   

Recent releases such as Aera’s ambient album ‘The Sound Path’ are a refreshing interlude to innovative A&R. Happy to see the boys continuing to think out of the box with a sharp ear for audiophile quality, we can’t wait to see this label continue to push the scene near and far. 

Follow Permanent Vacation

Buy PERVAC on Vinyl

Selected Label Works 6 Tracklist

01 TB – Glitter
02 John Talabot – Voices
03 Red Axes – Sun My Sweet Sun
04 Mano Le Tough – Energy Flow (DJ Koze Splasher Remix)
05 New Jackson – Bounce Again (SLW Edit)
06 Tuff City Kids with Annie – Labyrinth (Club Mix)
07 Lauer – ESC with Jasnau (Prins Thomas Diskomiks)
08 Marvin & Guy – Theme From Fire ! Fire !”
09 Tuff City Kids – R-Mancer (Roman Flügel Happy Gerdy Remix)
10 Benjamin Fröhlich – Holloway
11 Daniel Bortz – Faces

01 Lord Of The Isles – Clearness Of Love
02 Woolfy vs Projections – Not My Lover (Benjamin Fröhlich Uptown Mix)
03 Kauf – Through The Yard (Fort Romeau Vocal Remix)
04 John Talabot – Voices (Gerd Janson Version Conga)
05 Red Axes – Sun My Sweet Sun (Konstantin Sibold Afro Tech Mix)
06 Benjamin Fröhlich – Amos (Lauer Remix)
07 Argoman – Chimicalissimo
08 Lake People – The 1st Day
09 TB – Now And Forever
10 Mano Le Tough – Energy Flow (DJ Koze Miles & More Remix)
11 Lake People – Drifting Red (Lawrence Remix)