Sonar Preps and Unmatched Billing for Barcelona

Pioneering cultural event Sónar has announced new acts for its Barcelona, Spain edition adding 34 artists to its lineup for July 18-20, 2019 as well as the day-by-day schedule and release of all ticketing tiers. Among the newly announced acts are international trap-pop star Bad Bunny, US rapper Lil Uzi Vert, politically-influential group The Matthew Herbert Brexit Big Band, and New York house music greats Louie Vega and Honey Dijon. These, and many other artists join the previously announced artists which include A$AP Rocky, Skepta, Disclosure (DJ set), Paul Kalkbrenner, Arca, Kaytranada, Dixon, Vince Staples, Amelie Lens, Daphni, Maya Jane Coles, DJ Koze, Jlin, Actress + Young Paint, Holly Herndon, Deena Abdelwahed, Lotic, Bruce Brubaker & Max Cooper, Nicola Cruz and Bad Gyal. Extended six hour sets at SonarCar by Floating Points and Body & Soul will be amongst the more than 140 performances across nine stages for Sónar by Day and Sónar by Night slated for this year’s edition. Now in its 26th year, the innovative festival has continued to bring together the greatest minds in music, creativity and technology for three days and nights of culturally rich programming across electronic, urban and hip hop music in one of the world’s most cosmopolitan cities.

Bad Bunny’s performance at Sónar by Night builds on the festival’s long history of supporting urban music from the Caribbean and Latin America. The Puerto Rican singer and producer is an international phenomenon who has won over millions of fans with his fusion of trap, pop and reggaeton thanks to his open-minded and inclusive approach that joins Latinx musical culture to the American mainstream. Also figuring among the 34 artists added to the program are contemporary hip-hop sensation Lil Uzi Vert who will make his Spanish debut showcasing a blend of tracks from his forthcoming new LP ‘Eternal Atake’ and his biggest hits. The Matthew Herbert Brexit Big Band formed by the influential and politically-driven British producer and musician, will be joined on stage by 20 musicians and an 50-person choir as the headline act of the closing concert of Sónar 2019 on July 21 at Barcelona’s Teatre Grec. GRAMMY winner Louie Vega and Chicago house legend, Honey Dijon also round out the lineup alongside other acts including Japanese digital art maven Daito Manabe, the return of legendary producer DJ Krush and the new live show from Parisian duo Acid Arab. Other high concept projects that will push the limits of stage design include shows by Neon Chambers (Kangding Ray + Sigha), Quiet Ensemble, Hamill Industries & Shelly, Los Voluble or SebastiAn.

Once again, the festival doubles down on its support for new urban music and left of mainstream sounds with the dedicated SonarXS stage, featuring Shiva Feshareki, Afrodeutsche, Bill Kouligas and Virgen Maria among others. The best of the Spanish scene is also represented by artists including Territoire, Berlinist, Diego Navarro, Lil Moss, Tutu, Fake Guido and legendary experimental act Macromassa.

On the digital creative side, technologist and audiovisual artist Daito Manabe will present an extraordinary show, created in collaboration with leading neurologist Dr. Yukiyasu Kamitani of Kyoto University in Japan. ‘dissonant imaginary’ permits for the visualization of the emotions and thoughts that emerge when listening to music, and proposes a point of inflection in the way that we think about the relationship between music and the human brain.